Riviera Camera Club | Club Information

Club Information

Established in 1941, the Riviera Camera Club is one of the oldest camera clubs in Indianapolis. Riviera is home to photographers of all levels who are dedicated to growing their skills and sharing their knowledge with each other in a friendly atmosphere. We have a history of sharing our passion and art with the public and are committed to volunteering our time and expertise. For many years, we have presided over the Images of Nature Photography Exhibit and Competition for the Eagle Creek Park Foundation. We also volunteer as photographers for the annual Special Olympics Indiana Summer Games and events. It is both a honor and a privilege to participate in this important event and watch the athletes strive to reach their personal best. As part of our partnership with the Indianapolis Central Library, we present photography related educational programs and provide software training to the public as well as their staff. 

As a club, we are committed to supporting the photographic arts by participating in various state competitions such as the Anderson Center for the Arts IN-Focus Photo Exhibition; Cool Creek's Nature's Inspirations Fine Art Exhibit; Eagle Creek Park Foundation's Images of Nature; Honeywell Foundation's Clark Gallery Photography Show; the Indiana State Fair Photography Competition; and Kokomo Art Association's Annual Photography Competition. In addition to our success in these competitions, a few of our members have also been successful in winning awards in both national and international competition such as NANPA (the North American Nature Photography Association) Showcase, Audubon's Share the View International Nature Photography Competition, and Defender of Wildlife Photo Contest.  Riviera Camera Club won 1st place and was named "Camera Club of the Year" in the Camera Club category at the 2014, 2015, 2016, and 2017 Indiana State Fair.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Riviera Camera Club is to provide a place where people passionate about photography can expand their interest and skills by motivating and learning from each other.

We do this by:

  • Encouraging members to grow by sharing our knowledge and images with each other
  • Offering programs to enhance technical skills and knowledge
  • Promoting member to member mentoring
  • Sponsoring field trips that provide new challenges and opportunities to grow and expand our photographic interest
  • Organizing periodic seminars and workshops with noted professional photographers


President  -  Joe Hempstead

President Elect  -  Lesley Ackman

Secretary  -  Rona Schwarz

Treasurer  -  Debbie Winchester

Previous President - Rona Schwarz


Competition Co-Chairs  -  Pete Howard and Kim Holmes

Program Committee - Richard Smith, Becky Brill and the Executive Committee

Education Chair - Michael Jack

Library Liaison - Mike Williams

New Member Chair  -  Gary Hutchison

Outreach Chair  -  Lesley Ackman

Images of Nature Coordinators  -  Lee Casebere, Debbie Winchester and Lesley Ackman 


Photo by Michael Jack